July – What a Month!

July has been really challenging but we’re making it through.  We’ve had Fourth of July celebrations, softball drama and the eldest son’s 19th birthday.  The younger two both finished their math books for the year and they are working on their reading logs for prizes at the local library. 

We’re still doing violin lessons which are going well.  The youngest is getting used to her new full-size violin and bow.  After going from a 1/2 size to a full-size, it’s quite an adjustment. 

Our puppy, Zoe, is also doing well.  She’s five months old and finally getting the hang of being “housebroken.”  She is also very fluffy and in need of a haircut.  I’m not keen to take her to the groomers and I’m thinking about doing it myself but I don’t want to be that person who only gets half of the dog trimmed!

I’ve made lasagna for the youngest as a special request after her softball game.  It took me a while but I finally got to it!  The weather has been really humid today but it’s finally cooled down so I didn’t mind turning the oven on after all.

We went blueberry picking last Friday and have loads of delicious blueberries – and we’re planning on going again next Sunday.  This Friday, we’re heading to the eldest son’s college where his internship is finally over.  We’re picking him (and all his stuff) up from his apartment and bringing him home for 4 weeks before he moves back for the school year.  It will be so good to have him home and then so hard to have him gone until Thanksgiving/Christmas. 

Soccer is also starting up again soon.  Softball ends next Thursday, so 3 more games and soccer pretty much starts up on August 1st.  Although I think there are coaches’ meetings scheduled before then.  I can only remember so many events!

Now that I’m thinking of haircuts, we all need haircuts.  The boys are kind of shaggy and the youngest and I haven’t had a haircut since the end of last summer.  I should have gotten us hair appointments in May, when the boys’ had theirs, but there was so much going on. 

My 16 year old has been programming games and apps for his Android tablet.  He is very interested in theoretical physics and computer programming.  I’ve challenged him to make a million dollars before he goes to college and he doesn’t have to go if he doesn’t want to.  He is taking the challenge very seriously. 

The garden is looking pretty good.  We have, in addition to the watermelon plantation, tomatoes, peppers, zucchini, lettuce and radishes.  It could use more water but the water bill can get pretty high so we just keep praying for rain!  It needs some weeding but for the moment, I’m letting the plants do “survival of the fittest.”

About savoire12

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3 awesome kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment