Lovin’ Summer

We spent most of the day at soccer travel team tryouts for my youngest.  She isn’t that excited about being on the travel team per se, but she enjoyed playing soccer with her friends and having fun on a beautiful summer’s day.  I think if she wants to be on the travel team, I’ll find a way to make it work but I’m just as happy if she doesn’t want to join it.  One less thing!  Also, I’m not sure she will have made the team.  There were at least 16 girls trying out for the team and I don’t think they can take that many.

The World Cup continues on and most people seem confused by how it’s run.  Since the soccer tournaments are often run in a similar way, I kind of get the way it works, having seen it from the kid’s eye view.  However, it is a different sort of thing than American football playoffs or basketball tournaments or even baseball playoffs.

I think my 16 year old needs more physical activity.  He went from playing soccer 5 days a week to a break from all soccer this week.  I’m not sure what sort of sport or activity I can convince him to do but he is definitely in a funk, and I blame the lack of workout time.  I doubt he’s willing to do Zumba. . . .

We went to a local street fair yesterday and found an amazing booth.  It was more like a museum than an arts/crafts booth.  It was filled with butterflies and other insects mounted as artwork.  It was done in such a way as to look like a museum of natural history exhibit.  It also reminded us of the museum collections from Animal Crossing.    We also enjoyed some “authentic Hawaiian” shave ice.  It did seem very close to what we had when we visited Hawaii although I’m certain the shave ice we had in Honolulu was better!    And we purchased Hungarian strudel – also authentic – in cherry and apple.  Yum!

After the street fair, we drove to the college to pick up my eldest who has worked very hard in order to take the week off and  be home for his birthday.  We get him for 10 days through the July 4th weekend!  I do have to take him back for a meeting on Thursday, but that’s ok.  We’ll hit an awesome ice cream parlor as a reward/treat on the way back.  We won’t have to be back for softball because of the holiday so there will be no rush to get home. 

Tomorrow we are having a birthday celebration with my mom and that will be very special.   My eldest is turning 19!  He is an awesome and incredible young man, and I’m very proud to be his mom! 🙂

About savoire12

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3 awesome kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment