Last Day of June already!!

I  can hardly believe June is over – I still have bitter, cold memories of the winter that would never end.  We did finally break down and turn the air conditioning on yesterday.  Mostly because my mom was coming out and we didn’t want her to melt.  I think she appreciated it. 

We had a nice birthday celebration for my eldest, including cherry cobbler with frozen Greek yogurt and a dinner of steak with mushrooms, fries, and salad.  Our puppy and my mom’s dog believed they should be included in the feast and were dismayed to be put in “puppy jail” during dinner.

Today, my eldest is bouncing around the house, just happy to be home.  I love that he is happy to be with us and I wish he could be happy when he has to be away too.  It’s hard to be away from home for anyone, but for him, he feels a little bit off when he’s not with us. 

The kids are all watching Mythbusters on Netflix.  This is a special treat for them – which they insist is “educational.”  It is, but I don’t want them thinking it takes the place of their lessons.  It is a nice summer activity to not have to rush around to go anywhere or to be working on hard lessons, and they do learn a lot.  I checked out a book from the library filled with new experiments that we will be hoping to try – our own “trying this at home” version of science.  We won’t be getting any C-4!

We might head to the library later.  I think we have some reading prizes to pick up.  They like to count their reading time almost as much as the prizes.  I know we have some books on hold to pick up.  The youngest is still reading the Ga’Hoole series by Kathryn Lasky and I think she has a treat of having the last 4 books waiting for her.

 

About savoire12

I'm a homeschooling mom of 3 awesome kids.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment